DT1 - Integrated Seismic Geohazards
Advance understanding and modelling of individual earthquake-induced geohazards (ground motions, liquefaction, and slope instability), as well as unified data collection and modelling approaches to enable an integrated prediction in order to more efficiently mitigate future impacts and stimulate rapid advances in the profession.

Leaders: Brendon Bradley, Rolando Orense, Tim Stahl

DT2 - Whole-of-Building Seismic Performance
Develop fundamental understanding, and methods and models for the quantification of, whole-of-building seismic performance through direct consideration of structural and non-structural component interactions, as well as advances in seismic design and assessment considering life-cycle analysis.

Leaders: Rick Henry, Santiago Pujol

DT3 - Law, Planning, Economics

Investigate economic impacts of earthquakes, and create the evidence base to inform regulation for effective planning, policy and mitigation to build resilience – including whole-of-economy earthquake impact modelling, assessment of specific resilience-building legal and planning tools and processes, and behavioural ‘nudges’ to incentivize resilience.

Leaders: Ilan Noy, John Hopkins, Olga Filippova

DT4 - Cultural and Social Factors Shaping Resilience

Collaboratively understand, model and improve the critical cultural and social factors determining societal resilience to earthquakes in Aotearoa New Zealand, including human responses to earthquakes, temporal and spatial variation of risk, and building an earthquake-resilient society.

Leaders: David Johnston, Caroline Orchiston

DT5 - Mātauranga Māori and Earthquake Resilience

Community-led and co-designed participatory research to create and innovate mātauranga Māori (Māori knowledge) that will facilitate achievement of the earthquake resilience aspirations of tangata whenua. Knowledge translation of research findings will encourage increased understanding within Te Hiranga Rū QuakeCoRE, of iwi, hapū and whānau perspectives on earthquakes and disaster risk reduction.

Leaders: Anthony Hoete, Christine Kenney, Tūmanako Fa’aui